Institute for Labor Studies ILS (ILS) banner logo
Philippine Standard Time

Social Protection

Many of the member-economies of Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) are also part of the regional grouping of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), which includes Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines, and the industrial economies of East Asia, which include Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Taiwan, and China.

In recent years, Asia has grown to become an important regional destination for many migrant workers, gaining the largest increase in number of international migrants compared with those in other major areas, as shown in Figure 1 below. This growth has been attributed to the strong demand for migrant workers in the oil-producing countries of Western Asia and in the rapidly growing economies of South Eastern Asia, such as Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand (ITCILO, 2014). Asia’s increasing prominence as a preferred destination for global production processes has also contributed to this growth (Siar, 2013).

Click Here to Download Full Paper

Title: Examining the Portability of Social Security Benefits among Migrant Workers in the APEC Region focusing on Asian Economies
: Olivette A. Gabito