Institute for Labor Studies ILS (ILS) banner logo
Philippine Standard Time

Media Resources

Manila – ILS Executive Director Ahmma Charisma Lobrin-Satumba joined a select delegation from the Department of Labor and Employment that represented the Philippines in the 109th Session of the International Labor Conference (ILC).

She was joined by Undersecretary Claro A. Arellano, from the Legal and Overseas Operations Cluster, Assistant Secretary Dominique R. Tutay, who is also the concurrent Director of the Bureau of Labor Relations, Director Alice Q. Visperas from the International Labor Affairs Bureau, Director Ma. Consuelo S. Bacay of the Bureau of Labor Relations, and Labor Attaché Cheryl L. Daytec from Philippine Overseas Labor Office (POLO) Geneva. Undersecretary Arellano was designated as the head of the Philippine Delegation.

Part I of the conference, which transpired virtually from June 3 to 18, dealt with the following items on the agenda: Reports of the Chairperson of the Governing Body and of the Director-General; Application of International Labour Standards 2020; and a recurrent discussion on the strategic objective of social protection (social security), under the follow-up to the ILO Declaration on Social Justice for a Fair Globalization.

Exec. Dir. Lobrin-Satumba joined the Recurrent Discussion Committee: Social security (CDR).

The Conference, composed of a plenary and of technical committees, is the ILO’s highest decision-making body. It meets annually in June, bringing together the tripartite delegations from the Organization’s 187-member states.

The Conference establishes committees to deal with the technical items on its agenda. These committees meet concurrently, and work throughout the Conference, before finalizing their reports, conclusions or any instruments they may have drafted, which are then presented to the plenary for adoption.